Understand the Grade of Angus You're Buying.

Here you’ll learn about the different grades of beef, what makes our Prime Angus Beef superior, and how to truly live the prime life. There’s nothing more important to living the prime life than understanding the beef you are buying, especially how they are graded and what those gradings mean. Otherwise, you can pay an arm and a leg for average quality beef.

Top Three Beef Grades by the USDA

First, all beef is inspected for wholesomeness by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), and is graded for quality and consistency. The top three grades of beef on the USDA scale are Prime, Choice and Select. Where they fall on the grading (quality) scale:

  • USDA Prime: Considered to be the top 3%
  • USDA Choice: Accounts for the next 57%
  • USDA Select: Bottom 40%

grades of beef

Always know what grade of beef you are buying. If it is not specified using the USDA scale, verify what you are getting. Many retailers do not specify the grade of beef they are selling and market their beef with misleading marketing terms. You pay more for a fancy name and get less quality.

Even with full disclosure, you may still not know the quality you are getting. For example, beef graded to be USDA Choice means the steak you are purchasing falls somewhere within the 57% of beef below USDA Prime. Your steak could be great, or very chewy. Good luck. This is why our Premium Angus Beef is Superior.

Certified Steak sources only the highest quality angus beef without exception. There are many brands of beef, but only one Angus brand exceeds expectations. We guarantee our beef to be the most flavorful, tender and juicy cuts available. We source only Angus that meet very stringent requirements:

Standards for All the
Angus Beef We Offer

Marbling and Maturity
1. Modest or higher marbling – for the taste that ensures customer satisfaction
2. Medium or fine marbling texture – the white "flecks of flavor" in the beef that ensure consistent flavor and juiciness in every bite
3. Only the youngest classification of product qualifies as "A" maturity – for superior color, texture and tenderness

Uniform, consistent steak size
4. 10 to 16 square-inch ribeye area
5. Less than 1,000-pound hot carcass weight
6. Less than 1-inch fat thickness

Quality appearance and tenderness
7. Superior muscling (restricts influence of dairy cattle)
8. Practically free of capillary ruptures (ensures the most visually appealing steak)
9. No dark cutters (ensures the most visually appealing steak)
10. No neck hump exceeding 2 inches (safeguards against cattle with more variability in tenderness)

Experience 100% Grass Fed. For the First Time.

The grass fed beef farmers our beef is sourced from are passionate about the grass they grow and the land they preserve. They take pride in their craft and follow nature's way. Their sustainably grazed pastures produce a diverse variety of grasses, ensuring their heritage-bred cattle enjoy a year-round, all forage diet that is rich in nutrients and energy. This allows their cattle to be raised naturally, free of antibiotics and growth hormones.

Authentic. Natural. Delicious.

These proprietary, all-natural raising methods were created to "go beyond" organic. Our 100% grass fed beef is consistently tender and delicious because these farmers are experts in the art of grass finishing. They graze their cattle slowly and patiently, to produce authentic, great-tasting, grass fed beef that will amaze you. Some highlights:

  • 100% grass fed and grass finished
  • Raised on open pastures; never raised in feedlots
  • Never administered antibiotics or growth hormones
  • Agriculturally sustainable and environmentally friendly
  • Born and raised in the USA by family farmers

grades of grass fed beef

Our Wagyu - Top .008% of Beef. Live the Prime Life

Our Wagyu is sourced from a group of farmers whose goal was a uniquely flavorful and tender beef - to be recognized and sought after by chefs and beef connoisseurs around the world. They carefully selected authentic Wagyu genetics from legendary Japanese bloodlines, resulting in consistently marbled, flavorful and tender, velvety textured beef. The Wagyu we source is from the first USDA Certified Wagyu beef program in the US.

Holistic and Naturally Raised

The farmers we source from must adhere to strict feeding, management, production and animal care standards. A part of this holistic production system, all cattle are:

  • Vaccinated on the farm
  • Never administered antibiotics, stimulants or growth hormones
  • Fed slowly for more than 400 days
  • Agriculturally sustainable and environmentally friendly
  • Born and raised in the USA by family farmers

wagyu grades of beef

In order to clearly communicate differences in quality of our Wagyu beef, we refer to the Japanese Beef Marbling Standards (BMS) scale instead of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Grading Standards scale.